Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors

Research

In the group Biogenic Drugs we deal with isolation, analysis and effects of natural products from plants. We investigate functions of these substances within plants as well as the potential use as new drugs.

Another focus is on the investigation of enzymes of alkaloid biosynthesis, their evolutionary origins and its biochemical characterization and their importance for the plant itself.

Here you can see a short list of our recent priority projects:

Recent Projects


Germinating potatoe tuber

Germinating potatoe tuber

Calystegines as bio-active agents

Calystegines (hydroxylated nortropane alkaloids) are strong glycosidase  inhibitors. Plant alkaloidal glycosidase inhibitors are considered as defence compounds against herbivores and pathogens.

Calystegines are  localised in Solanaceae, specifically in young and meristematic tissues...



Stress

Stress

Polyamines and drought tolerance

Cross-talk of polyamine and calcium signalling in stress tolerance of barley (Hordeum vulgare)

Drought is a major limitation for crop yield, and drought-tolerant crop cultivars are a worldwide necessity. Polyamines were shown to improve tolerance and recovery from drought, and recent results place spermine at a prime position for this effect. The mechanism of action of spermine is unknown, but evidence points to spermine modulation of cation channels...


The evolution of putrescine N-methyltransferase

Alkaloids like nicotine, atropine, scopolamine and their derivatives are pharmaceutically important agents used as antidotes for intoxications, for the medication of asthma, as spasmolystics, and against motion sickness.  These alkaloids are formed in Solanaceae plants like Nicotiana spec. and Datura stramonium, where they are essential for protection from herbivory...


Human spermidin synthase

Human spermidin synthase

Characterization of different Spermidine-, Spermine- and Thermosperminsynthases

Under physiological conditions, polyamines are protonated and have a cationic character. This allows interactions with negatively charged macromolecules such as nucleic acids and membranes.

Polyamines play important roles in nearly all living cells. They have regulatory functions in cell differentiation and growth processes, furthermore they are involved at the cell's own stress response and take cell protective functions...


Wheat germ

Wheat germ

„Phyto“-Ceramides

Extraction, Isolation and Identification of Glycosylceramides from Plants

Ceramides belong to the complex class of sphingolipids. They occur in all animals, plants, fungi, but also in prokaryotes and viruses.

As a major component (35-40 %) of the stratum corneum, the outermost layer of human skin, ceramides take significantly part in the formation and stability of the skin barrier...


Arabidopsis plants

Arabidopsis plants

Tropinone-reductase-like proteins

Evolution of plant secondary metabolism: The promiscuity of tropinone reductase-like short chain dehydrogenases/reductases

Enzymes with relaxed substrate preferences are considered as primordial proteins that served as basis for the evolution of specific catalysts in higher organisms.

In higher plants, numerous short chain dehydrogenases/reductases (SDR) participate in secondary metabolism. These enzymes mostly possess high substrate and reaction specificity, e.g., tropinone reductases...



Former Projects


Calystegia sepium

Calystegia sepium

Biosynthesis of Calystegines

Calystegines are polyhydroxyl nortropane alkaloids.  They occur in Solanaceae, that produce medicinal tropane alkaloids,  such as atropine (racemic hyoscyamine) in  Atropa belladonna, Hyoscyamus niger and Datura stramonium. Calystegines are also found in potato tubers (Solanum tuberosum) and in wire weed (Calystegia sepium,  Convolvulaceae)...


Hop

Hop

Vitamins and phytoestrogens from plant sources

Plant secondary products possess many functions in  plant metabolism as well as in human nutrition. For the activity  assessment of plant vitamins and of phenolic compounds with  phytoestrogenic activity, exact identification and measurements are a  prerequisite...


Bark of a plane tree

Bark of a plane tree

Isolation and measurement of betulinic acid

Betulinic acid (BA) is a triterpene carboxylic acid  that induces apoptosis specifically in melanoma cells. BA is a lead  structure for anticancer compounds with direct attack on mitochondria in  tissues of neuroectodermal origin. BC may be obtained by oxidation of  betulin, a natural product from birch bark. Alternatively BA may be  isolated directly from plant tissue...

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Forschungsprojekte

In der Arbeitsgruppe Biogene Arzneistoffe beschäftigen wir uns mit der Isolierung, Analytik und Wirkung von Naturstoffen aus Pflanzen. Dabei betrachten wir zum einen die Funktion dieser Stoffe innerhalb der Pflanze als auch den potentiellen Einsatz als Arzneistoff.

Ein weiterer Focus liegt auf der Untersuchung von Enzymen der Alkaloidbiosynthese, deren evolutionärer Entstehung, ihrer biochemischen Charakterisierung und ihrer Bedeutung für die Pflanze.

Hier sehen Sie eine kurze Liste unserer wichtigsten Forschungsprojekte:

Aktuelle Projekte


Keimende Kartoffelknolle

Keimende Kartoffelknolle

Calystegine als Wirkstoffe

Calystegine (hydroxylierte Nortropanalkaloide)  sind starke Glycosidasehemmstoffe. Alkaloide als Glycosidasehemmstoffe in Pflanzen werden für Abwehr von Herbivoren oder Pathogene verantwortlich gemacht.

Calystegine akkumulieren in Solanaceen besonders in jungen und meristematischen Geweben...



Stress

Stress

Polyamine und Trockentoleranz

Das Zusammenspiel von Polyaminen und Kalzium- Signalwegen bei Stresstoleranz in Gerste (Hordeum vulgare)

Trockenheit ist eine der Hauptursachen für geminderte Ernteerträge, so dass trockenresistente Getreidesorten überall auf der Erde dringend benötigt werden. Polyamine können Trockentoleranz und die Regeneration nach Trockenstress entscheidend verbessern. Aktuelle Studien zeigen, dass diese Effekte auf die Wirkung von Spermin zurückzuführen sind. Der genaue Wirkmechanismus ist jedoch noch nicht aufgeklärt; es gibt Hinweise, dass Spermin Kationenkanäle moduliert....


Datura Stramonium

Datura Stramonium

Evolution von Struktur und Funktion der Putrescin-N-methyltransferase

Die Putrescin-N-methyltransferase (PMT) ist das erste spezifische Enzym für die Bildung von Nicotin und Tropanalkaloiden in Solanaceen. Seine Aminosäuresequenz ähnelt dem Primärstoffwechsel-Enzym Spermidinsynthase (SPDS), das vermutlich den evolutionären Vorläufer darstellt...


Humane Spermidinsynthase

Humane Spermidinsynthase

Charakterisierung verschiedener Spermidin-, Spermin- und Thermosperminsynthasen

Im Jahre 1678 beschrieb Antony van Leeuwenhock das Vorkommen des Tetraamins Spermin im menschlichen Samen. Neben Spermin (I) und seinem Konstitutionsisomer Thermospermin (II) zählt auch das Triamin Spermidin (III) zur Klasse der sogenannten Polyamine...


Weizenkeime

Weizenkeime

„Phyto“-Ceramide

Extraktion, Isolierung und Identifizierung von Glycosylceramiden aus Pflanzen

Ceramide gehören zu den Sphingolipiden, einer sehr komplexen Lipidklasse. Sie kommen in allen Tieren, Pflanzen und Pilzen, aber auch in einigen Prokaryoten und Viren vor.

Als großer Bestandteil (35-40 %) des Stratumcorneums, der äußersten Schicht der menschlichen Haut, sind Ceramide maßgeblich am Aufbau und der Stabilität der Hautbarriere beteiligt...


Arabidopsis Pfanzen

Arabidopsis Pfanzen

Tropinonreduktase-ähnliche Enzyme

Die vielfältige Substratakzeptanz Tropinonreduktase-ähnlicher kurzkettiger Dehydrogenasen/Reduktasen

Enzyme mit geringer Substratpräferenz werden als ursprüngliche Proteine betrachtet, die als Grundlage für die Evolution spezifischer Biokatalysatoren in höheren Organismen dienen.

In Gefäßpflanzen sind zahlreiche kurzkettige Dehydrogenasen/ Reduktasen (SDR) am Sekundärstoffwechsel beteiligt. Diese Enzyme weisen meist eine hohe Substrat- und Reaktionsspezifität auf. Ein Beispiel hierfür sind die Tropinonreduktasen...



Abgeschlossene Projekte


Calystegia sepium

Calystegia sepium

Biosynthese von Calysteginen

Calystegine sind hydroxylierte  Nortropanalkaloide.  Sie finden sich in Solanaceen, die therapeutisch  verwendete  Tropanalkaloide wie Atropin (racemisiertes Hyoscyamin)  bilden, z.B. Atropa belladonna, Hyoscyamus niger und Datura stramonium. Darüber hinaus werden Calystegine in Kartoffelknollen (Solanum tuberosum) und in Zaunwinde (Calystegia sepium,  Convolvulaceae) gebildet...


Hopfenzapfen

Hopfenzapfen

Vitamine und Phytoestrogene aus pflanzlichen Quellen

Pflanzliche Sekundärstoffe als Wirkstoffe erfüllen zahlreiche Funktionen  in der Pflanze und auch in der menschlichen Ernährung. Um den Wert von  Vitaminen und phenolischen Inhaltstoffen als Phytoestrogene beurteilen  zu können, ist eine genaue Identifizierung und quantitative Erfassung  notwendig...


Borke einer Platane

Borke einer Platane

Isolierung und Messung von Betulinsäure

Betulinsäure ist eine Triterpencarbonsäure, die als Auslöser von  Apoptose spezifisch in Melanomzellen bekannt wurde. Sie gilt als  Leitsubstanz für Cancerostatika mit direktem Angriff auf Mitochondrien  für weitere Tumore neuroektodermalen Ursprungs. Betulinsäure wird  oxidativ aus Betulin, einem Naturstoff aus Birkenrinden gewonnen, oder  sie kann direkt aus Pflanzengewebe isoliert werden...

Zum Seitenanfang