Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors

Tropinone-reductase-like proteins

Evolution of plant secondary metabolism: The promiscuity of tropinone reductase-like short chain dehydrogenases/reductases

Arabidopsis plants

Arabidopsis plants

Arabidopsis plants

Enzymes with relaxed substrate preferences are considered as primordial proteins that served as basis for the evolution of specific catalysts in higher organisms.

In higher plants, numerous short chain dehydrogenases/reductases (SDR) participate in secondary metabolism. These enzymes mostly possess high substrate and reaction specificity, e.g., tropinone reductases. In most plant genomes known so far and in some prokaryote genomes as well, a group of SDR encoding genes are present that are related to tropinone reductases by DNA sequence similarity of more than 50%. They are annotated as tropinone-reductase-like (TRL) genes, suggesting that plants and bacteria possess the capacity to reduce tropinone. The aim of this project is the analysis of catalytic characteristics and evolution of TRL and the definition of their biological functions in plants.

Section of tropane alkaloide biosynthesis

Section of tropane alkaloide biosynthesis

Section of tropane alkaloide biosynthesis

In one part of this project we synthesize TRL-encoded proteins from Brassicaceae and measure their enzymatic properties, i.e., (co-) substrate turnover and specificity. Substrate choice is guided by protein model and pharmacophor construction and subsequent substrate docking. TRL enzymes mostly do not reduce tropinone. In contrast, they are capable of accepting a wide variety of natural and synthetic substrates, including monoterpenes and steroids. Genes encoding substrate-relaxed SDR are an essential part of plant genomes, potentially providing a reservoir for ongoing evolution of metabolic diversity.

In one part of this project we synthesize TRL-encoded proteins from Brassicaceae and measure their enzymatic properties, i.e., (co-) substrate turnover and specificity. Substrate choice is guided by protein model and pharmacophor construction and subsequent substrate docking. TRL enzymes mostly do not reduce tropinone. In contrast, they are capable of accepting a wide variety of natural and synthetic substrates, including monoterpenes and steroids. Genes encoding substrate-relaxed SDR are an essential part of plant genomes, potentially providing a reservoir for ongoing evolution of metabolic diversity.

Substrate diversity of TRLs

Substrate diversity of TRLs

Substrate diversity of TRLs

In a second part of the project we examine the function of TRL enzymes in vivo using knock-out-plants from Arabidopsis. Modified gene expression patterns of knock-out and wildtype plants can be verified by RNA extraction and northern blot/qRT-PCR analysis. This allows conclusions about special signal transduction pathways, which are inhibited or promoted by the not any longer synthesized protein. Furthermore metabolite profiling by chromatographic methods coupled with mass spectrometry helps to find inference on the affected pathways. Besides Arabidopsis we work with a second model plant in this project, that is Solanum tuberosum (Solanaceae). Potato offers a lot of different tropinone reductases: TRII to produce a precursor for calystegine biosynthesis, one TRI and some TRLs, whose functions are not known so far. Transgenic plants not producing the enzyme (RNAi gene silencing) or overproducing the enzyme (gene overexpression) support the elucidation of biological significance of TRI/TRL. Analysis of changes in protein expression patterns and in metabolite profiles in these plants may help to clarify the biological function of the enzymes.

Agrobacterium mediated leaf-disk transformation for generation of transgenic plants

Agrobacterium mediated leaf-disk transformation for generation of transgenic plants

Agrobacterium mediated leaf-disk transformation for generation of transgenic plants

Co-operations:

  • Leibniz-Institute for Plant Biochemistry Halle:
    Dr. Sabine Rosahl - research group: Induced Pathogene Defence
    Juliane Fischer and Eva Schulze - research group: Computational Chemistry

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure





Tropinonreduktase-ähnliche Enzyme

Die vielfältige Substratakzeptanz Tropinonreduktase-ähnlicher kurzkettiger Dehydrogenasen/Reduktasen

Arabidopsis Pflanzen

Arabidopsis Pflanzen

Arabidopsis Pflanzen

Enzyme mit geringer Substratpräferenz werden als ursprüngliche Proteine betrachtet, die als Grundlage für die Evolution spezifischer Biokatalysatoren in höheren Organismen dienen.

In Gefäßpflanzen sind zahlreiche kurzkettige Dehydrogenasen/ Reduktasen (SDR) am Sekundärstoffwechsel beteiligt. Diese Enzyme weisen meist eine hohe Substrat- und Reaktionsspezifität auf, ein Beispiel hierfür sind die Tropinonreduktasen. In den meisten bekannten Pflanzengenomen und auch in einigen Bakteriengenomen ist eine Gruppe von SDR zu finden, die mit einer DNA-Sequenzidentität von mehr als 50% mit Tropinonreduktasesequenzen aus Solanaceen übereinstimmt. Sie werden deshalb als Tropinonreduktase-ähnliche (TRL) Gene bezeichnet. Die Bezeichnung aber deutet an, dass diese Pflanzen und Bakterien die Fähigkeit zur Tropinon-reduktion besäßen. Das Ziel des Projektes ist die Untersuchung der TRL-Enzyme auf katalytische Charakteristika und Evolvierbarkeit und die Definition ihrer Funktion in Pflanzen.

Ausschnitt Tropanalkaloidbiosynthese

Ausschnitt Tropanalkaloidbiosynthese

Ausschnitt Tropanalkaloidbiosynthese

Dazu werden in einem Teilprojekt zahlreiche TRL-Enzyme aus Brassicaceen rekombinant synthetisiert und deren enzymatische Eigenschaften, wie (Co-) Substratumsatz und Spezifität, gemessen. Die Substratauswahl wird dabei durch die Erstellung virtueller Proteinmodelle, Pharmakophore und Substratpassungsstudien (Docking) geleitet. Es zeigt sich, dass die TRL-Enzyme mehrheitlich nicht in der Lage sind, Tropinon zu reduzieren. Im Gegensatz dazu sind sie fähig, eine große Vielfalt natürlicher und synthetischer Liganden, wie Monoterpene und Steroide, als Substrate zu akzeptieren. Daraus lässt sich eine wichtige Rolle von Genen, die Enzyme mit geringer Substratspezifität codieren, als essentieller Teil des pflanzlichen Genoms ableiten. Möglicherweise bilden diese Gene ein Reservoir für die fortschreitende Evolution metabolischer Diversität.

In einem neuen Teilprojekt soll ausgehend von diesen Ergebnissen im Hinblick auf eine potenzielle biokatalytische Anwendung, untersucht werden, wie sich die isolierten rekombinanten TRL-Enzyme durch gerichtete Mutationen in ihren Eigenschaften (Coenzym- und Substratspezifität, Thermostabilität, Lösungsmittelakzeptanz, etc.) verändern lassen.

Substratvielfalt der TRLs

Substratvielfalt der TRLs

Substratvielfalt der TRLs

Parallel wird in einem dritten Teilprojekt die Funktion der TRL in vivo an TRL-Knock-Out-Pflanzen (Arabidopsis thaliana) erforscht. Mit isolierter RNA aus den Pflanzen kann durch Northern-Blot und quantitativer RT-PCR eine veränderte Genexpression bei Knock-Out und Wildtyp-Pflanzen festgestellt und Rückschlüsse auf die Signaltransduktionswege gezogen werden, die durch das nicht mehr gebildete Protein beeinflusst werden. Weiterhin können durch chromatografische Verfahren mit massenspektrometrischer Analyse Unterschiede im Profil verschiedener Stoffwechselmetaboliten aufgeklärt werden, die Schlussfolgerungen auf betroffene Signalwege zulassen. Neben Arabidopsis thaliana dient in diesem Projekt auch Solanum tuberosum (Solanaceae) als Modellpflanze. Die Kartoffel besitzt unterschiedliche Tropinonreduktasen: die TRII zur Bildung einer Vorstufe in der Calysteginbiosynthese, eine TRI und mehrere TRL, deren Funktion bislang unbekannt ist. Zur Aufklärung der Funktion von TRI und TRL tragen transgene Pflanzen bei, die entweder reduzierte  (RNAi-Silencing) oder erhöhte Mengen des Enzyms produzieren (Gen-Überexpression). Ein verändertes Proteinmuster und veränderte Stoffwechselmetaboliten in diesen Pflanzen können bei der Charakterisierung der biologischen Funktion der Enzyme helfen.

Transgene Kartoffelpflanzen nach Agrobakterien-vermittelter Blattscheibentransformation

Transgene Kartoffelpflanzen nach Agrobakterien-vermittelter Blattscheibentransformation

Transgene Kartoffelpflanzen nach Agrobakterien-vermittelter Blattscheibentransformation

Kooperationspartner:

  • Leibniz-Institut für Pflanzenbiochemie Halle:
    Dr. Sabine Rosahl (AG Induzierte Pathogenabwehr)
    Juliane Fischer und Eva Schulze (AG Computerchemie)

Zum Seitenanfang